A Message to Parents

Parents consistently tell us that they want their young people to grow into confident, resilient and responsible adults. That is why they have chosen to send their children to Outward Bound for over 50 years.

Outward Bound challenges young people to discover talents and resources within themselves. Our courses build on success and achievement to empower students to assume responsibility and develop life skills such as peer leadership, decision-making, problem-solving, goal-setting, and clear and honest communication.

While our courses are mentally and physically rigorous and do strengthen individual character, Outward Bound is not a survival school, nor is it therapy: we do not "fix" kids. Our courses are not designed to correct errant behavior. If you believe your child is an "at-risk" youth and needs specific help, please call us to discuss whether an Outward Bound course would be suitable for your child. 

Outward Bound's reputation is built upon it's exceptional staff. We employ inspiring leaders for their compassion, integrity and passion for helping people discover their potential. Our staff are highly skilled outdoor professionals who bring to Outward Bound diverse life experience. Their discipline and dedicated professionalism ensures that your child's safety and well-being is their number one concern.

Outward Bound's safety and operating procedures have become recognised as being amongst the highest in adventure-based education. Safety protocols in all of our programs ensure that risk is more perceived than real. We train your sons and daughters in the skills, responsibilities and discernment necessary for safe wilderness adventure. Instructors closely supervise students until they demonstrate the proficiency and confidence required for greater self-reliance. The process of students taking responsibility and learning to assess risk is an integral part of every Outward Bound course.

Student safety is our number one priority.

Here's what some of our parents have said about us:

Encourage your child to go. The experience is truly worthwhile and the organisation of the whole trip was exceptional.

I cannot praise it enough. I sent my son on an adventure that brought the best out in him. He returned a well adjusted young man full of hope and optimism.

Upcoming Courses

Mon May 05 - Mon May 12
WA Catalyst Leadership Development
Sat May 24 - Fri May 30
ACT Catalyst Leadership Development
Mon Jun 30 - Fri Jul 11
NSW Rainforest Navigator
Mon Sep 22 - Sun Sep 28
ACT Australian Alps Family
Mon Sep 22 - Fri Oct 03
ACT Australian Alps Navigator
Mon Sep 22 - Sun Sep 28
VIC Snowy River Family
Mon Sep 22 - Fri Oct 03
VIC Snowy River Navigator
Mon Sep 22 - Sun Sep 28
WA South West Family
Sun Sep 28 - Thu Oct 09
WA South West Navigator
Sat Oct 18 - Fri Oct 24
NSW Catalyst Leadership Development
Mon Jan 05 - Sun Jan 11
ACT Australian Alps Family
Mon Jan 05 - Fri Jan 16
ACT Australian Alps Navigator
Mon Jan 05 - Fri Jan 16
VIC Snowy River Navigator
Tue Apr 07 - Sat Apr 18
ACT Australian Alps Navigator
Tue Apr 07 - Mon May 18
WA South West Navigator

Find Us

  • Facebook: outwardboundaustralia
  • Flickr: outwardboundaustralia
  • Linked In Group: 4337018
  • Twitter: outwardboundau
  • YouTube: OutwardBoundAust
  • External Link: https://plus.google.com/+OutwardboundOrgAu/

Subscribe to receive our quarterly newsletter

* indicates required