Safety

We strive to offer the most fulfilling, exhilarating adventures possible without compromising quality, safety or environmental standards.
Safety
The nature of outdoor activities will always involve an element of risk, inconvenience, and uncertainty. However, careful planning and coordination by our highly trained, professional staff minimises real risk without diminishing the excitement of an active, adventurous challenge that is outdoor education.

At Outward Bound Australia, safety is our fundamental priority - over 50 years of experience has allowed us to develop, continually improve, and implement the highest standards of personnel, equipment, and risk management strategies.

 

 

Risk Management

Risk Management at Outward Bound Australia involves a continuing and all encompassing cycle covering several key areas. This system assesses the level of risk attached to any activity and course in its entirety. This is done by looking at the interrelationship between people, equipment and environment to ensure real risk is reduced and managed to an acceptable operating level.

Best Practice

Outward Bound Australia is at the forefront of Outdoor Education delivery in Australia, providing a benchmark within the experiential education industry. We also form part of a worldwide benchmarking process with Outward Bound International. Bi-annual International Safety Reviews, comprising teams of senior Outward Bound staff from schools around the world plus other industry leaders, confirm our excellent standing, worldwide.

An internal safety audit is also completed at the beginning of each season prior to the commencement of any course.

SafetyEmergency Management Procedure and Safety Network

This is a written procedure providing the framework for reporting and managing any incident that may arise in the field or at National Base.

It guides staff efficiently and effectively to deal with an emergency. This procedure is supported by our extensive 24-hour communication network and vehicle fleet.

Outdoor Medical Incident Database (OMID)

Over 25 years, Outward Bound Australia has developed a powerful database to track incidents and accidents. We record what happened, when, the severity, the activity in progress, and other factors such as instructors, program, weather, etc. Constant tracking and reviewing of incidents, accidents and near misses guides ongoing practice and policy refinements that continue to reduce the number and the severity of incidents in the field, making our programs and the outdoor education industry safer.

If you would like to know more about the OMID, click here.

If you have any further questions or concerns about safety, please contact the Chief Operations Officer by emailing This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .

 

Upcoming Courses

Mon Apr 21 - Sun Apr 27
ACT Australian Alps Family
Mon May 05 - Mon May 12
WA Catalyst Leadership Development
Sat May 24 - Fri May 30
ACT Catalyst Leadership Development
Mon Jun 30 - Fri Jul 11
NSW Rainforest Navigator
Mon Sep 22 - Sun Sep 28
ACT Australian Alps Family
Mon Sep 22 - Fri Oct 03
ACT Australian Alps Navigator
Mon Sep 22 - Sun Sep 28
VIC Snowy River Family
Mon Sep 22 - Fri Oct 03
VIC Snowy River Navigator
Mon Sep 22 - Sun Sep 28
WA South West Family
Sun Sep 28 - Thu Oct 09
WA South West Navigator
Sat Oct 18 - Fri Oct 24
NSW Catalyst Leadership Development
Mon Jan 05 - Sun Jan 11
ACT Australian Alps Family
Mon Jan 05 - Fri Jan 16
ACT Australian Alps Navigator
Mon Jan 05 - Fri Jan 16
VIC Snowy River Navigator
Tue Apr 07 - Sat Apr 18
ACT Australian Alps Navigator
Tue Apr 07 - Mon May 18
WA South West Navigator

Find Us

  • Facebook: outwardboundaustralia
  • Flickr: outwardboundaustralia
  • Linked In Group: 4337018
  • Twitter: outwardboundau
  • YouTube: OutwardBoundAust
  • External Link: https://plus.google.com/+OutwardboundOrgAu/

Subscribe to receive our quarterly newsletter

* indicates required