A FRIENDly Ride to Support Australian’s Living with Brain Injury

Former Outward Bound staff member and rugby coaching personality Andy Friend, along with his wife Kerri (also a former Outward Bound staff member), are embarking on a mountain bike challenge to raise awareness of acquired brain injury.

Andy will take on the Bicentennial National Trail in the 'FRIENDly Ride' challenge, with his wife supporting him as he attempts to ride his mountain bike from Cooktown, Queensland to their home town in Canberra.

In May 2010 Andy’s wife Kerri was involved in a mountain bike accident in which she suffered an acquired brain injury.  Since the accident Andy, Kerri and their sons have been striving towards a full recovery together.

Andy says, The FRIENDly Ride will push his limits for three months, both physically and mentally, as he rides through 5,000km of Australia’s toughest bush terrain on one of the most difficult bike trails in the world.

"The Bicentennial National Trail is one of two trails in the world rated a 10/10 in difficulty. The challenge for us is to work hard on the ride and work hard away from the bike as well, raising awareness and much needed funds where possible.  The beauty of this event is that I love the Australian bush and I love bike riding, so I’m determined to make this event a success,” he said.

Andy and Kerri will be raising money for Brain Injury Australia and the Australian Outward Bound Development Fund.  Both organisations offer assistance and support to those that suffer with acquired brain injuries while supporting them during their rehabilitation process.

The FRIENDly Ride will run from the 1st of September until the 3rd of December this year.  To show your support Click here to make a donation or simply follow the links to Brain Injury Australia and donate directly.

 

 

 

 

 

Donate via the following link: https://www.givenow.com.au/outwardbound

Upcoming Courses

Mon May 05 - Mon May 12
WA Catalyst Leadership Development
Sat May 24 - Fri May 30
ACT Catalyst Leadership Development
Mon Jun 30 - Fri Jul 11
NSW Rainforest Navigator
Mon Sep 22 - Sun Sep 28
ACT Australian Alps Family
Mon Sep 22 - Fri Oct 03
ACT Australian Alps Navigator
Mon Sep 22 - Sun Sep 28
VIC Snowy River Family
Mon Sep 22 - Fri Oct 03
VIC Snowy River Navigator
Mon Sep 22 - Sun Sep 28
WA South West Family
Sun Sep 28 - Thu Oct 09
WA South West Navigator
Sat Oct 18 - Fri Oct 24
NSW Catalyst Leadership Development
Mon Jan 05 - Sun Jan 11
ACT Australian Alps Family
Mon Jan 05 - Fri Jan 16
ACT Australian Alps Navigator
Mon Jan 05 - Fri Jan 16
VIC Snowy River Navigator
Tue Apr 07 - Sat Apr 18
ACT Australian Alps Navigator
Tue Apr 07 - Mon May 18
WA South West Navigator

Find Us

  • Facebook: outwardboundaustralia
  • Flickr: outwardboundaustralia
  • Linked In Group: 4337018
  • Twitter: outwardboundau
  • YouTube: OutwardBoundAust
  • External Link: https://plus.google.com/+OutwardboundOrgAu/

Subscribe to receive our quarterly newsletter

* indicates required