Outward Bound team tackles 24-hour MTB challenge

Outward Bound Australia staff members Laura Marshall and Chris St Jack recently competed in the Australian 24 hour Solo Mountain Bike Championships. The event was held at Stromlo in the ACT from midday on the 23rd to midday on the 24th of April.

Competitors complete as many laps of the 10.95km track as they can in the 24-hour period. Chris and Laura each completed 25 laps, travelling an impressive 270km over the course of the race.

Both competitors competed well in their age groups and overall in the 80 competitor strong field. Chris placed fourth in the 18-24 years men’s age group and 28th male overall. Laura placed third in the female 35-39 years age group and 7th female overall.

Laura and Chris are members of the Outward Bound team set to tackle the gruelling XPD adventure challenge in Tasmania this October. They will be joined by Mick Scicluna and Ben Kaiser for the challenge of over 700 kilometres of hiking, mountain biking and kayaking.

The team will be competing in similar events in the lead up to XPD, including the North Face 100km run in the Blue Mountains in May. They will also run team days in the middle of the year to help prepare them as a group.

XPD is a pinnacle adventure racing event, receiving a widespread media attention. If you would like to support the Outward Bound XPD team please email This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it how you can help.

Upcoming Courses

Mon Apr 21 - Sun Apr 27
ACT Australian Alps Family
Mon May 05 - Mon May 12
WA Catalyst Leadership Development
Sat May 24 - Fri May 30
ACT Catalyst Leadership Development
Mon Jun 30 - Fri Jul 11
NSW Rainforest Navigator
Mon Sep 22 - Sun Sep 28
ACT Australian Alps Family
Mon Sep 22 - Fri Oct 03
ACT Australian Alps Navigator
Mon Sep 22 - Sun Sep 28
VIC Snowy River Family
Mon Sep 22 - Fri Oct 03
VIC Snowy River Navigator
Mon Sep 22 - Sun Sep 28
WA South West Family
Sun Sep 28 - Thu Oct 09
WA South West Navigator
Sat Oct 18 - Fri Oct 24
NSW Catalyst Leadership Development
Mon Jan 05 - Sun Jan 11
ACT Australian Alps Family
Mon Jan 05 - Fri Jan 16
ACT Australian Alps Navigator
Mon Jan 05 - Fri Jan 16
VIC Snowy River Navigator
Tue Apr 07 - Sat Apr 18
ACT Australian Alps Navigator
Tue Apr 07 - Mon May 18
WA South West Navigator

Find Us

  • Facebook: outwardboundaustralia
  • Flickr: outwardboundaustralia
  • Linked In Group: 4337018
  • Twitter: outwardboundau
  • YouTube: OutwardBoundAust
  • External Link: https://plus.google.com/+OutwardboundOrgAu/

Subscribe to receive our quarterly newsletter

* indicates required