Participants arrive for Summit to Sea

Seventeen thrill seekers from across the country have arrived on National Base for this year’s Summit to Sea.

They will spend their first few days getting to know each other and navigating their way across the Outward Bound ropes course. They will begin a 500 kilometre trek through some of Australia’s most rugged terrain on Thursday.

Participants start out on foot in the ACT, raft across Lake Eucumbene in NSW, mountain bike through NSW to the Great Dividing Range in Kosciusko National Park, scale Australia’s three highest peaks, paddle down the Snowy River into Victoria and then continue on foot to their final destination, Bass Strait.

Participant Richard Walker said he is looking forward to the challenge and getting out into the Kosciuszko National Park.

“I have a bit of experience with Outward Bound already. I was a coordinating teacher for Marist College who have sent students on Outward Bound courses for several years. I’m looking forward to the challenge and the sense of satisfaction overcoming the challenge will bring,” Richard said.

Richard isn’t the only one with a prior connection with Outward Bound. Toby Beeson’s Uncle previously completed Summit to Sea almost 30 years ago. Toby’s spot on Summit to Sea was an 18th Birthday present.

“My uncle said his experience on Summit to Sea changed his life and hopes I have a similar experience. I’m really looking forward to pushing myself and overcoming the challenge,” Toby said.

The journey from the ACT to the Victorian coast will take 26 days and participants are due to complete the adventure on February 4th. Be sure to check back for updates and images from their journey.

Upcoming Courses

Mon Apr 21 - Sun Apr 27
ACT Australian Alps Family
Mon May 05 - Mon May 12
WA Catalyst Leadership Development
Sat May 24 - Fri May 30
ACT Catalyst Leadership Development
Mon Jun 30 - Fri Jul 11
NSW Rainforest Navigator
Mon Sep 22 - Sun Sep 28
ACT Australian Alps Family
Mon Sep 22 - Fri Oct 03
ACT Australian Alps Navigator
Mon Sep 22 - Sun Sep 28
VIC Snowy River Family
Mon Sep 22 - Fri Oct 03
VIC Snowy River Navigator
Mon Sep 22 - Sun Sep 28
WA South West Family
Sun Sep 28 - Thu Oct 09
WA South West Navigator
Sat Oct 18 - Fri Oct 24
NSW Catalyst Leadership Development
Mon Jan 05 - Sun Jan 11
ACT Australian Alps Family
Mon Jan 05 - Fri Jan 16
ACT Australian Alps Navigator
Mon Jan 05 - Fri Jan 16
VIC Snowy River Navigator
Tue Apr 07 - Sat Apr 18
ACT Australian Alps Navigator
Tue Apr 07 - Mon May 18
WA South West Navigator

Find Us

  • Facebook: outwardboundaustralia
  • Flickr: outwardboundaustralia
  • Linked In Group: 4337018
  • Twitter: outwardboundau
  • YouTube: OutwardBoundAust
  • External Link: https://plus.google.com/+OutwardboundOrgAu/

Subscribe to receive our quarterly newsletter

* indicates required