Alice Springs Students Go Outward Bound

Twelve Alice Springs students have just returned from their 2,000 kilometre journey to National Base for an eight day Outward Bound adventure. This program was a partnership between Outward Bound and Alice Springs Partnerships for Success and was designed to provide high quality outdoor educational experiences to those in indigenous communities.

The students were chosen for their positive attitudes and have exhibited an academic potential. Last year the Partnerships for Success Program sent the students on a Tall Ship experience off the South Australian Coast, whereas this year Outward Bound was the chosen organisation to work with Partnerships for Success.

The Partnership for Success program is a partnership between the Department of Education and Training, Centrecorp and the Polly Farmer Foundation. Virginia Morley is the project leader of the Alice Springs Partnerships for Success and said that outdoor educational experiences like Outward Bound have tremendous value for the students.

"These outdoor educational experiences are designed to challenge the students and have them adapt to an unknown environment."

"At Outward Bound, the students were pushed to their mental and physical limits and surprised themselves at what they achieved. The have returned with much more confidence and determination. There were times when they thought they couldn't go on, but they learned to push through and give it a try," Ms Morley said.

Ms Morley's highlight of the course came when the students climbed to the peak of Mount Tennant.

"Scaling Mt Tennant was a big achievement for the students. That was definitely a time when they thought they could not go on, but when they got to the top they were so excited they all sang a song. It was a very special moment," Virginia said.

On top of numerous hikes and expeditions, the students abseiled natural rock faces, built rafts, bouldered at 'Lego Land,' and pushed their limits on the climbing tower and famous high ropes course at National Base.

Outward Bound CEO, Darren Black says the student group will continue to learn about themselves and their abilities after the course.

"This experience is invaluable to a young adult's development. Our research shows that young people do not cope well with adversity because they don't have life experiences that give older people strength."

"We are proud to provide young Australians with challenging real life experiences to help the overcome adversity and reach their full potential," Mr Black said.

 

Upcoming Courses

Mon Apr 21 - Sun Apr 27
ACT Australian Alps Family
Mon May 05 - Mon May 12
WA Catalyst Leadership Development
Sat May 24 - Fri May 30
ACT Catalyst Leadership Development
Mon Jun 30 - Fri Jul 11
NSW Rainforest Navigator
Mon Sep 22 - Sun Sep 28
ACT Australian Alps Family
Mon Sep 22 - Fri Oct 03
ACT Australian Alps Navigator
Mon Sep 22 - Sun Sep 28
VIC Snowy River Family
Mon Sep 22 - Fri Oct 03
VIC Snowy River Navigator
Mon Sep 22 - Sun Sep 28
WA South West Family
Sun Sep 28 - Thu Oct 09
WA South West Navigator
Sat Oct 18 - Fri Oct 24
NSW Catalyst Leadership Development
Mon Jan 05 - Sun Jan 11
ACT Australian Alps Family
Mon Jan 05 - Fri Jan 16
ACT Australian Alps Navigator
Mon Jan 05 - Fri Jan 16
VIC Snowy River Navigator
Tue Apr 07 - Sat Apr 18
ACT Australian Alps Navigator
Tue Apr 07 - Mon May 18
WA South West Navigator

Find Us

  • Facebook: outwardboundaustralia
  • Flickr: outwardboundaustralia
  • Linked In Group: 4337018
  • Twitter: outwardboundau
  • YouTube: OutwardBoundAust
  • External Link: https://plus.google.com/+OutwardboundOrgAu/

Subscribe to receive our quarterly newsletter

* indicates required